Food Party is AMAZING!

I love all things food related, especially when they are super quirky, which is why I love “Food Party.”  The IFC series features the creations of modern-day culinary psychedelic puppet pioneer Thru Tran.

Thu Tran’s cooking show Food Party is quite simply ridiculously amazing. From its humble beginnings as a video art project put together by a group of friends in Tran’s Ohio apartment to the airwaves of IFCFood Party has only gotten crazier and more hilarious. It’s a sickeningly adorable puppet show spattered with moments of intense evil, and absolutely irrational genius!

Perhaps her wild origin story can help us understand the way Tran thinks:

 

…Whenever [our father] would make a stew he would make us guess what animal we were eating. “It’s a goat!” “It’s a kangaroo!” “It’s a deer!” “It’s an alligator!” Normally my brothers and I would be wrong, but we didn’t care, we would eat it anyway. The weirdest thing might have been cubes of solidified pork blood, or fresh coagulated duck blood topped with its chopped innards, basil, and roasted nuts.

I didn’t realize it was weird until I would talk to my friends at school about it, and they would wrinkle their faces like ogres in total disgust. I would have to change the subject immediately to something like the kind of mousse and gel combo I had to use to make my 5th grade permed hair look lustrously wet and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

